Notify your employer right away if you have been injured on the job.

The employee must notify the employer of the accident within 30 days of the accident.  If you fail to do this, your claim may be denied.  Obviously, the ideal situation is to notify your employer immediately and in writing.  Some employers have rules that injuries need to be reported within 24 hours.  If you don’t make your employer’s deadline, you don’t forfeit your workers’ compensation benefits but the insurance adjustor will deny your claim and make you fight for your benefits.

2016-10-30T13:43:16+00:00

About the Author:

The Injured Workers Law Firm is a Richmond, Virginia based firm solely focused on serving clients with workers' compensation claims in Virginia. If you have questions about your benefits or if you would like more information on the Virginia Workers’ Compensation system, order our book, “The Ultimate Guide to Workers’ Compensation in Virginia” , or call our office today (804) 755-7755.