Time Limits to File for Richmond Workers’ Compensation

If you were injured at the workplace, time is of the essence if you want to receive compensation. Although most states allow you only 30-90 days to file a Workers’ Compensation claim, some states allow you much more time. For example, California allows workers anywhere from one to five years to file a Workers’ Compensation claim. In Virginia, the time limit is two years. Check with a Workers’ Compensation attorney to determine the time limit for your state.

There are a few rare cases in which the time limit to file a Workers’ Compensation claim may be extended. These include cases in which the worker was in a coma, required immediate and lengthy treatment or surgery, or contracted a serious illness that required quarantine. These instances make it difficult to file a Workers’ Compensation claim in a timely manner, so the time limit may be extended in these circumstances.

If you suffered an occupational disease, you must file a claim within two years of the date you were told the disease was caused by your job. Within five years of the date you were last exposed at work, you must file. If, after returning to work, you become disabled yet again, you have two years to file a claim. That claim must be filed within the two years of the date that you were last paid under an Award. 

If you suffered a workplace injury and have questions about your rights, you need legal help from a Richmond Workers’ Compensation attorney. If you live in Virginia, contact the Injured Workers Law Firm. Attorney Michele Lewane has more than 20 years of experience handling Workers’ Compensation claims. Contact her today at (804) 755-7755 and order her free guide, Ultimate Guide to Workers’ Compensation in Virginia.

2016-08-01T02:38:53+00:00

About the Author:

The Injured Workers Law Firm is a Richmond, Virginia based firm solely focused on serving clients with workers' compensation claims in Virginia. If you have questions about your benefits or if you would like more information on the Virginia Workers’ Compensation system, order our book, “The Ultimate Guide to Workers’ Compensation in Virginia” , or call our office today (804) 755-7755.