New Fines for Employers Who Don’t Have Workers’ Compensation Insurance Coverage

I’m pleased to announce that the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission has finally made some updates to their rules and guidelines when it comes to uninsured employers.  The new fees shutterstock_316253027and regulations read:

 “The law change amends section 65.2-805 of the Workers’ Compensation Act which addresses the civil penalty for employer failure to insure. Such employer shall be assessed a civil penalty of not more than $250 per day for each day of noncompliance, subject to a maximum penalty of $50,000, plus collection costs. The amendment was approved March 7, 2014 and will be effective on July 1, 2014.”  Source:  http://www.vwc.state.va.us/content/special-notice-new-penalty-uninsured-employers.

Hopefully these new, steeper fines will encourage more employers to make sure their employees are covered by the appropriate workers’ compensation insurance! 

If you would like more information on the Virginia workers’ compensation system, order my book, “The Ultimate Guide to Workers’ Compensation in Virginia” by clicking this link, or call our office today (804) 755-7755.

 

2016-12-05T04:51:54+00:00

About the Author:

The Injured Workers Law Firm is a Richmond, Virginia based firm solely focused on serving clients with workers' compensation claims in Virginia. If you have questions about your benefits or if you would like more information on the Virginia Workers’ Compensation system, order our book, “The Ultimate Guide to Workers’ Compensation in Virginia” , or call our office today (804) 755-7755.