Talking to a lawyer in Richmond, VA, specializing in workman’s comp injury and workman’s comp cases may assist in understanding the requirements of Workers’ Compensation laws in Virginia. Ideally, employees suffering from a work injury should immediately notify their employer in writing about the accident.
Know Your Employer’s Requirements
Employers may have their own set of rules regarding notification of an injury. Often, an employer will enforce a 24-hour notice. Although these types of individual employer requirements may not prevent an employee from possibly receiving Workers’ Compensation benefits, they may make it more difficult.
Missing a notification deadline gives an insurance adjuster a reason to deny an employee’s claim. This can delay when benefits might be awarded, if at all.
Deadline for Notification
Workers’ Compensation laws in Virginia state an employee must notify an employer of an accident within 30 days after it takes place. However, if the notification deadline is missed, it does not necessarily mean an employee will be denied benefits.
Statute of Limitations
Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission administers the Workers’ Compensation program for the state of Virginia. Injured workers must file a Claim Form within 2 years of the date of the accident with the commission. Even if an insurance company is voluntarily making payments, employees still need to file with this state agency.
Filing a claim with the state is extremely important. Once the statute of limitations is met and the 2 years are up, an insurance company may decide to stop paying you if they know a claim has not been filed with the state. This will leave you without a solid argument.
Workman’s comp cases can be complicated. This is why consulting with a lawyer in Richmond, VA may help with explaining workman’s comp injury claims and Workers’ Compensation laws.
Contact an Lawyer in Richmond, VA about Your Work-Related Injury Claim
When you have difficulties with your work-related injury claim, a Virginia Workers’ Comp attorney can bear some of the burden you’ve been placed under. To get back on your feet, whether it means getting back to work or getting the benefits you deserve, order a copy of our free book, the Ultimate Guide to Workers’ Compensation in Virginia, and contact a Workers’ Comp attorney at the Injured Workers Law Firm for a no-cost consultation – 877-755-7744 or 804-755-7755.
About the Author: Injured Workers Law Firm
The Injured Workers Law Firm is a Richmond, Virginia based firm solely focused on serving clients with workers' compensation claims in Virginia. If you have questions about your benefits or if you would like more information on the Virginia Workers’ Compensation system, order our book, “The Ultimate Guide to Workers’ Compensation in Virginia” , or call our office today (804) 755-7755.