When you suffer a serious injury on the job you should not rely on your company’s insurer to provide you with all Workers’ Comp lawsuit or claim benefits that you deserve. Ideally, you should prepare a Workers’ Compensation report of the accident in writing and present it to your employer as soon after the accident as possible.
According to Virginia workers’ comp regulations, you must report the accident to your employer within 30 days of the date it occurred. If you fail to do so, your Workers’ Comp lawsuit or claim could be denied.
It’s important that you give your employer a Workers’ Compensation report of your injury and contact Richmond attorneys to preserve your legal rights. However, some employers may require that you report any injuries within 24 hours.
When You Fail to Promptly Report Your Injury
If you miss your employer’s deadline, you may still be entitled to Workers’ Comp benefits, according to the Virginia Workers Compensation Commission, but you may need Richmond attorneys experienced in Workers’ Comp regulations to help you fight for compensation because the insurance adjuster will likely deny your claim.
Attorneys can ensure that your claim if filed on time with the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission and that you seek all compensation to which you are entitled.
Contact Richmond Attorneys about Your Work-Related Injury Claim
When you have difficulties with your work-related injury claim, a Virginia workers’ comp lawyer can bear some of the burden you’ve been placed under. To get back on your feet, whether it means getting back to work or getting the benefits you deserve, order a copy of our free book, the Ultimate Guide to Workers’ Compensation in Virginia, and contact a workers’ comp attorney at the Injured Workers Law Firm for a no-cost consultation – 877-755-7744 or 804-755-7755.
About the Author: Injured Workers Law Firm
The Injured Workers Law Firm is a Richmond, Virginia based firm solely focused on serving clients with workers' compensation claims in Virginia. If you have questions about your benefits or if you would like more information on the Virginia Workers’ Compensation system, order our book, “The Ultimate Guide to Workers’ Compensation in Virginia” , or call our office today (804) 755-7755.