A: Under the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Act, an injured employee is entitled to a potential 500 weeks of lost wages, including temporary total, temporary partial, and permanent partial disability benefits, and payment of medical treatment for as long as the need for the medical treatment is necessary and related to the work injury. In some instances, an injured worker can receive lost wages for his or her lifetime but this is for severe injuries. Medical treatment includes mileage to and from medical appointments, physical therapy, lab work, etc.
However, it is the injured employee’s responsibility to protect his or her rights to these benefits. This is done first by notifying his or her supervisor of the work injury within 30 days. Then, secondly, by filing a claim for benefits with the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission within two years of the date of the accident. Unfortunately, neither the employer nor the insurance carrier is required to tell the injured employee what he or she needs to do to protect their rights. Injured Workers Law Firm can help determine how to best protect you and keep you informed of your responsibilities under the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Act.
About the Author: Michele Lewane
The Injured Workers Law Firm is a Richmond, Virginia based firm solely focused on serving clients with workers' compensation claims in Virginia. If you have questions about your benefits or if you would like more information on the Virginia workers’ compensation system, order our book, “The Ultimate Guide to Workers’ Compensation in Virginia” , or call our office today (804) 755-7755.